SA stamp duty calculator

Stamp duty in South Australia, also known as land transfer duty, is a once-off tax paid upon purchasing a property.
Our calculator will help you calculate stamp duty on owner-occupied homes in Western Australia, as well as any first home buyer concessions that may apply.
Last updated 3 July 2023. Calculator has been updated for the 2023-2034 financial year.
Your details
If you're not sure if you count as a foreign owner, you can find the eligibility criteria listed in our FAQs.
Total government fees
Stamp duty
Stamp duty before relief
First home buyer relief savings
Transfer fee
Registration fee
Foreign owner surcharge
This calculator is only for primary places of residence, and assumes that relevant transfer duty rates apply. If you are buying an investment property, your stamp duty rates may differ. For foreign owners, there may also be other additional fees. Does not apply to vacant land.
Don't have enough for stamp duty and a 20% deposit?
With OwnHome, you don't need a 20% deposit. Check your eligibility to get started and talk to one of our experts.


What is the current stamp duty rate in South Australia?

Stamp duty in SA is calculated on a sliding scale according to your property value.

For properties under $200,000, a concessional rate applies to properties that are either owner-occupied or business assets.

The table below shows the rates for owner-occupied properties, taking into account this concessional rate.

Property values Stamp Duty (Transfer Duty) Rate
$12,000 or less $1.00 for every $100 or part of $100
$12,000 to $30,000 $120 plus $2.00 for every $100 over $12,000
$30,001 to $50,000 $480 plus $3.00 for every $100 over $30,000
$50,001 to $100,000 $1,080 plus $3.50 for every $100 over $50,000
$100,001 to $200,000 $2,830 plus $4.00 for every $100 over $100,000
$200,001 to $250,000 $6,830 plus $4.25 for every $100 over $200,000
$250,001 to $300,000 $8,955 plus $4.75 for every $100 over $250,000
$300,001 to $500,000 $11,330 plus $5.00 for every $100 over $300,000
Over $500,000 $21,330 plus $5.50 for every $100 over $500,000

The above will not apply for investment properties. If you are a first home buyer, you may be eligible for additional concessions.

What are transfer fees and mortgage registration fees?

The government charges additional fees for land purchases and mortgages.

Transfer registration fees, also known as transfer fees, are charged for registering your interest in the property. In SA, the transfer fee is calculated according to your property value.

Mortgage registration fees are also necessary if you are buying using a home loan. This is a flat fee, which is $187 for the 2023-2024 financial year.

As a first home buyer, do I get a concessional rate?

As of 15 June 2023, first home buyers in South Australia are able to claim stamp duty exemptions or concessions for new homes, depending on the value of the property. This is also referred to as First Home Buyer Stamp Duty Relief.

This stamp duty relief applies to homes under $700,000. For properties under $650,000, a full stamp duty exemption applies on residential housing. For properties between $650,000 and $700,000, a concessional rate applies, which reduces the amount of stamp duty paid. Thresholds do differ for vacant land.

The eligibility criteria include:

  • At least one applicant must be an Australian permanent resident or citizen, or a New Zealand citizen living in Australia on a Special Category Visa
  • Applicants must be at least 18 years old
  • All applicants must not have previously owned property for longer than 6 months
  • All applicants must not have previously received a first home buyer stamp duty concession in any other state or territory
  • Companies and trusts are not eligible, unless a legal disability exists.

You may also be eligible for a once-off First Home Owner's Grant, for new homes under $650,000.

Do I have to pay a surcharge as a foreign owner in South Australia?

Yes, South Australia has a foreign purchaser surcharge. This is in addition to standard stamp duty rates. Foreign purchaser duty is calculated as 7% of the property value.

You are not considered a foreign owner if you are any of the following:

  • an Australian citizen
  • a permanent resident
  • a New Zealand citizen with a special category visa.

In South Australia, if you are a foreign owner jointly purchasing with your non-foreign owner partner, you are still required to pay the 7% surcharge on your part of the property.

If you get Australian PR or become a citizen within 12 months of paying the surcharge, you may be eligible for a refund.

Please note that you may be subject to other costs in addition to this surcharge.

Disclaimer: Important information about our calculators

The calculator on this website is provided for your information only and is to illustrate scenarios. The calculator results are intended as a guide only and are an estimate or approximate guide only, based on the information you input. The calculator should not be relied upon for the purposes of entering into any legal or financial commitments.

The results should not be taken as a substitute for professional advice, and do not constitute professional advice. You should consider seeking independent legal, financial, taxation or other advice for your unique circumstances.

All reasonable care has been taken in preparing and designing the calculator; however, OwnHome Services Pty Ltd provides no warranties and makes no representation that the information provided by the calculator is correct, appropriate for your particular circumstances, or indicates you should follow a particular course of action. Calculations are for buying owner-occupied homes, and do not apply to land nor to investment properties. Other fees and charges may also apply.

OwnHome Technologies Pty Ltd is a related body corporate of OwnHome Services Pty Ltd ACN 664 492 059, ABN 77 648 597 184, which is a corporate authorised representative (#547794) of Allied Financial Consulting Pty Ltd, ACL 393845.